Scroll back to the top

2020 Advising Award Winners

Published on 5/27/2020 12:00:00 AM
COLLEGE STATION - May 27, 2020 - Academic advisors are an essential thread to the fabric of Texas A&M and our students’ success. Texas A&M is fortunate to have a myriad of exceptional academic advisors and professionals who are invested in the development and success of our students. With such a large number of outstanding advisors, it is challenging to recognize and decorate all who were nominated for an advising award. Below we are announcing the recipients of the inaugural CONNECTED Awards, President’s Award for Academic Advising, and University Advisors and Counselors (UAC) Awards as well as providing a brief description of each of these respective awards. 
The inaugural CONNECTED Awards sponsored by the Office for Student Success recognizes an individual and an advising team for notable advancement utilizing EAB Navigate in supporting student success. On behalf of the Office for Student Success, the inaugural recipients of the individual and team award are: 
CONNECTED Advising Award (Individual) 
Emily Kaufman Baumann, Academic Advisor IV, Department of Political Science 
Engineering and Academic Student Affairs Advising - Edwin Aguilar, Randal Allison, Anna Budvitis, Robert Carlisle, Adrian Garza, BB Gaytan, Alison Hecker, Analicia Leiva, Laura Olivarez, Tammy Thomas, Nick Toliver, and Shelby Wallace.
The President’s Award for Academic Advising is given to individuals who embody exceptional academic advising. These individuals possess strong conceptual knowledge of fundamental and novel advising theories, as well as relational skills that provide effective academic advising. On behalf of President Young, the recipients of the 2020 President’s Award for Academic Advising are: 
Alyssa Brigham, Academic Advisor III, Department of Statistics
Eileen Hoy, Academic Advisor III, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Laura Olivarez, Assistant Director, Freshmen Engineering Academic Advising Services 
Jennifer Rhinesmith-Carranza, Academic Advisor III, Department of Animal Science
Daniel Springer, Academic Advisor III, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
The annual UAC advising awards recognizes individuals who embody the spirit of caring, compassionate, skillful advisement, and genuine concern for the welfare of individual students. On behalf of the University Advisors and Counselors, the 2020 UAC Award Winners are:
Ed Guthrie Advising Award
Amber Salvato, Academic Advisor IV, Department of Animal Science
Excellence in Graduate Advising Award
Katie Bryan, Academic Advisor IV, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Innovative Advising Award
Lindsey Randolph, Program Coordinator of Tutoring, Academic Success Center
Amelia Parnis, Program Coordinator of Supplemental Instructions (SI), Academic Success Center
Margaret Annette Peters Advising Award
Dr. Rebecca Creasy, Lecturer, Department of Nutrition and Food
New Advisor Award
Tyler Laughlin, Academic Coach, Academic Success Center
Advising Team Award
Center for Student-Athlete Services- Scholastic Supervisors - Chris Barttlebort, Dan Childs, Nakia DeBlanc, Harper Fletcher, Garry Gibson, Joshua Hadley, Michael McGee, Kristi Mejias, Mindy Phillips, Molly Tye and Jonathan Wallace
To learn more about each UAC award, please visit
Finally, the UAC Awards Breakfast Committee is planning a celebration to recognize the award winners in June. More information is forthcoming.
Congrats to all of our award winners!